How Instagram Changed Wedding Planning

There’s a whirlwind of wedding photos on Instagram. Almost every wedding professional – from make up and hair stylists to caterers to florists to musicians, and, of course, photographers – is competing for attention-grab on the platform. Oh yes, and brides too. The Instagram platform lets one scroll through thousands of images effortlessly, and that makes it into a sort of a wedding magazine on steroids. And don’t think that this is only in the non-Orthodox world. In fact, it would be extremely difficult for a wedding professional even in frum circles to stay in business without maintaining serious social media presence.

Here are some ways that Instagram changed the wedding planning process as well as the wedding planning business. We’ll also include a recent collage of Instagrabs from some of the wedding professional that we follow.

Keeping up with the Joneses

Well, I guess it depends how you look at it. Yes, it can put more pressure on a couple to step up their wedding planning efforts. And yes, that can be unhealthy. But, you could also say, it gives couples access to more choices and wedding ideas. (Perhaps, too many choices?) It probably does all of those things. Without a doubt, for many many brides to be, scrolling through Instagram is now part of the wedding planning process. Double tap this, double tap that and then review the photos you liked in your account profile. You can tag your friends and get their input right on the spot too.


{Florists, Caterers, Party planners, Party Rentals.}

Included in the collage:

Hostess International@hostessinternational
Michicas Celebrations@michicascelebrations
Renee S. Erreich Events – @rsevents
Chani Greenbaum Events@chanigreenbaumevents
Rentastic Party – @rentasticparty
Kosher Party Planner – @kosherpartyplanner
New York Kosher Caterers@nykcaterers
Papaya Events@papayaevents
Shevy Weiss Party Planner@shevy_weiss_party_planner
Frumi Metz Event Planning – @fmeventplanning
Shaikes Catering@shaikescatering
Birch Event Design@bircheventdesign
Devorah Deutch – @devorah.deutch
Creations Catering by Nosson Schultz – @creationscatering



More Exposure for Small Business

Instagram is open for all. It doesn’t (yet) have a firewall that keeps commercial pages away from non-commercial ones like Facebook does. This makes it an incredible tool for businesses to reach their customers. It also levels the playing field for big and small businesses. Small businesses, like make-up professionals or starting out photographers, can quickly grow their fan base if they have some Instagram prowess. Or if they can at least plaster each post with a bunch of #hashtags. Of course, this also means that wedding professionals are also their own PR people, and that can be quite overwhelming at times.


{Make Up}

Included in the collage:

Miriam Follman – @makeupbymiriamfollman
Periva Charach@makeupbypriva
Racheli Shagalov@racheli_makeup
Gitty Berger – @gittyberger
Abigail Kolb – @missabby_mua
Chava Farkash@makeupbychava
Ahuva (Sanik) Itzkowitz – @ahuvasanik
Chana Hertz –@chanahertzmakeup
Batya Hess@makeupbybatya
Miriam Sokol@miriamsokolmakeup

Business Website, That’s So Yesterday

There’s so much that a small business can do via social media these days, that many wedding professionals have no permanent website at all. Who needs the headache and the costs of constant website maintenance, web security worries, etc, when one can have up to date information, real client engagement, instant exposure, and all absolutely free. Everything a wedding business needs is right in the palm of their hand.



Included in the collage:

Koby Yedgar@koby_yedgar_photography
Mendel Meyers (Monsey)@mendelmeyersmonsey
Nir’s Expressions@nirs_expressions
Benjamin Kohen@benjaminkohenphotography
CJ Studios@cjstudiosphotos
Andre Reichmann@andrereichmannphotography
Chana Blumes@chanablumesphoto
Ulrich Studios – @ulrichstudios
Eli Robinson – @elirobinsonphotography
Laibel & Chana Schwartz@laibelschwartzphotography
Jerry Meyer@jerrymeyerstudio
Eliau Piha@eliaupihastudio

Remember OnlySimchas?

Once it was all the rage. A couple would post their wedding picture on OnlySimchas, and let the Mazel Tovs roll in. It was a great way to share a simchah and the only way for out of town relatives and friends to be a part of it. (In a way it was ahead of its time.) Social media changed all that. Wedding pictures hit Facebook, Instagram, well, instantly, and everyone near and far can shower their emoji filled Mazel Tovs to the happy couple. Now, OnlySimchas is a Jewish news website. However, it’s reclaiming its old role via Instagram (@onlysimchas), together with a newer kid on the simcha sharing block – @SimchaSpot.



{ from 8 years ago.}

Can you add something to this list?

Related Posts with Thumbnails

No comments